Worried Lebanese

thought crumbs on lebanese and middle eastern politics

Bourne identities in cyberspace

Posted by worriedlebanese on 10/01/2010

Things sometimes are not what they seem. The net is quite a convenient place for “role playing”, assuming false identities and parading as someone else for multiple reasons, including political ones. When I was an active member of a ning-platform a couple of years ago, I noticed a couple of such obvious cases. There and elsewhere, I sometimes found myself wondering if the person I was chatting with was a fraud. Some thing in our interactions made me suspicious. I found inconsistencies in certain arguments, unusual (and I mean extremely atypical) positions and reasoning, strange use of words or spelling… something just didn’t feel right or sounded somewhat fishy.

Two weeks ago, I found myself on the other side of the magnifying glass. A person I was having an argument with told me outrightly “By the way I know that you are not Lebanese, I found that out from your writing and do not tell me how”… When I objected to her accusation, she answered, “Regarding being Lebanese , your arguments say otherwise, and your style of writing […] Even if you were born Lebanese you do not sound like one any more “. I heard this type of reasoning before, right here, on this blog. A year ago, a former reader accused me of being a fraud before slamming the door. And I realised that I had followed the same reasoning I described above on several occasions. This allowed me to uncover some frauds (judging from their reaction), but on other occasions I might have been totally wrong. Some people are incoherent. Some people are atypical and do not share the same ideas as “their likes”. What does one loose by giving them the benefit of the doubt?

6 Responses to “Bourne identities in cyberspace”

  1. 🙂

    When you get tiered of sleeping on the right, you turn to the left, and then you’re tiered of that you sleep on the right, and it is thus the world goes round.

  2. lirun said

    dude and now we’re plagiarising http://emspeace.blogspot.com/2009/12/sometimes-things-arent-what-they-seem.html

    is this revenge on the humous thing?

    • Do you mean we’re Conchiglie parading as Gnocchi?

    • And speaking of the Hummus war, here is my personal message to the Lebanese: KNOW YOUR ENEMY.

      This man pictured on the left is no other than Jawdat Ibrahim, the man responsible for overthrowing our country in the Guinness Book of World Records with the largest Hummus Bowl.

      Yes you heard me right JAWDAT IBRAHIM! an Arab! An Arab allowed Israel to win the Hummus war, over us, a state that has been officially arab “in its identity and belonging” since 1990!!! Here’s a citizen Avigdor Lieberman wouldn’t submit to his loyalty oath.

Leave a Reply

 
