Worried Lebanese

thought crumbs on lebanese and middle eastern politics

Blogging: beside the point…

Posted by worriedlebanese on 22/10/2009

It’s been almost a month I haven’t blogged. And as usual, I wonder if there’s a point to all this. Why do people blog? Why do others read blog postings? Is it a waste of time? What kind of need does it answer? I don’t know.

I’m going to give it another chance in these coming weeks. Here’s a glimpse of the topics that I might be discussing.

  • A conference on Democracy and Religion at the Orient Institute
  • A book signing at the Francophone Book Fair
  • A summary of an article on Martyrocracy
  • A reaction to an article published by Samir Frangieh.
  • Something on Middle Eastern Peace sites and blogs.

14 Responses to “Blogging: beside the point…”

  1. lirun said

    of course there is.. its a log of thought.. something that records a historical discourse of how people felt.. so that future generations cant tell accuse us of apathy and indifference and so that when we have first hand information we can provide each other with a window that no mainstream media outlet will.. dont fade.. ur clarity is needed.. please

  2. WL,
    “If it wasn’t for General Aoun’s patriotic stances, keno il masi7ieh sarro bil ba7r.

    Jesus Christ wasn’t appreciated much while on earth becaue people were ignorant and failed to see beyond the tip of their noses.”

    I hope that you will agree that one does not build a modern democratic society on such “silly” and “reactionary” ideas as the ones embodied in the above statement. Although the above was written by an FPMer there are plenty such nonsensical and discriminatory statements being said by LFers and others. Sectarianism is a disease of the mind.

    • @ Ghassan Karam.
      I don’t see what’s sectarian about the two quotes you shared with me.
      The first statement is blatantly partisan, even if it expresses a communal concern (or fear).
      The second statement is religious and has nothing to do with politics.
      You dismiss them swiftly. Is this prima facie approach really productive? Instead of taking them for what they are you throw them in the same box and discard them.
      I don’t believe religion, partisanship or communal concerns to be “silly” and “reactionary”, and I certainly don’t see how they prevent the functioning of a pluralistic democratic society. America is among the most religious societies in the world. And I believe it is among the most democratic of nations. As for partisanship, I think it’s a common trait to all multiparty policial systems. As for communal concerns, I don’t see in what way they are intrinsically different from national, humanistic, supra-national, local, regional concerns. For me it’s a matter of scope. I’m less worried about the size of the scope than the intent. In the same way one can be nationalistic without being xenophobic, cosmopolitan without being hostile to nature, family oriented without being tribalistic… I believe one can have communal feelings without being sectarian.

      • WL,
        I would be very happy if we would move towards the American system of separation and of judging people by their ideas and not their religion.

  3. PN said

    Hey WL,

    Nice to have you back. Seconding Lirun’s comments, am glad that you’re giving blogging “another chance”.

    As to your ???, here is my take:

    – “Why do people blog? What kind of need does it answer?”

    I think you provide the answer in your blog header; and that is to share their “thought crumbs” on issues that “worry” them or are of interest to them. As a means of expression, communication, and venting, blogging can be a form of healing.

    – “Why do others read blog postings?”

    Simply put, it’s human curiosity.

    According to Wikipedia’s definition, “curiosity is an emotion related to natural inquisitive behaviour such as exploration, investigation, and learning…”

    – “Is it a waste of time?”

    Could be, yet it’s certainly not the worst way to waste time.

    A mentor once told me that the most rewarding aspect of a “healthy discussion” in which people listen to discordant viewpoints with respect and openness is that it can serve as an excellent reminder of the convictions that govern your life. Over time, the worthiness of your convictions will be strengthened or weakened. As such, your time is well wasted.

    Best.

    • Thanks PN,
      But I believe there are better ways to “waste” time. This blogging format is rather limited. I’m a terribly slow writer. So I spend hours searching for the right word or trying to clarify my thoughts, which leaves me very little to read what others are saying and responding to them. It’s frustrating.
      I’ll see what I can do about it.

  4. Serge Yared said

    U can’t stop!

    Ur mission has just started…

    • LOL
      You’re incorrigible Serge!
      thanks for the support, but I’m too poor a time organiser to engage in too many activities. And my writing hours are already too long, and I’d rather spend the rest of my time engaging in dialogues and activities than battle with words for a posting that’s mostly lost in cyberspace.
      Don’t we have two projects that we should be working on?

      • Serge Yared said

        I have not forgotten!!
        Tis all my fault if we haven’t moved on. I need to stop messing in pubs and start focus on that huge project.

        Can you give me until the end of the year. I have some commitments to carry and then I will be yours🙂

  5. lsr said

    On political writing from one of the greatest Israeli dissidents – http://www.notes.co.il/idanl/54268.asp

    • thanks for sharing. My hebrew is too poor to be able to read and undertand this article. But Idan Landau’s reputation precedes him.

      • lsr said

        I can try to translate it to English (or get somebody to do so) – let me know if you are interested (I think you have my email) – there are a few websites in Hebrew that are pure gold; it would be great to have them available to a greater audience.

      • lirun said

        i would gladly translate bro – but its so longgg🙂

      • I thought Lsr and Lirun were one and the same. And u r obviously not (though particularly in sync). Sorry for my mistake.
        Don’t worry about the translation. I’m more interested to know why u r sharing this article in particular with me Lsr, and what makes it pure gold in your eyes.

Leave a Reply

 
