Worried Lebanese

thought crumbs on lebanese and middle eastern politics

Gaza, a prequel to Lebanon War 3 ?

Posted by worriedlebanese on 06/01/2009

MIDEAST-PALESTINIAN-ISRAEL-GAZA-CONFLICTEvery day, news leaked into my spirit on what was happening in Gaza. I had shut myself off from it, tried to ignore it. But the death toll kept reminding me that there was a new war in the Middle East, actually not a new war but a new battle (in an ongoing war)  in my neighbourhood. 

I couldn’t stand to hear the press commenting on it. It was all dabble or worse… propaganda. Almost no coverage from Gaza. Only some images (probably stolen) from a Palestinian and Islamist TV, but no western journalists, no live testimonies from westerners living there. The only people interviewed were european looking IDF personnel, mostly women. 

As I walked on the streets of Amsterdam, I noticed through a window a TV reporting on the war. Each war in the Middle East is a rehearsal to another war. It’s a training ground for another war. That’s at least how the Israeli military sees it, and that’s how their foes now understand it. In each war, new strategies are tested and “lessons” learnt from previous wars applied. 

Israel knows that the Middle East is no friendly place to live in, so it has grown accustomed to seeing itself “victim” of an everlasting and ongoing war with its neighbours. A war taking various forms (one of them being a truce or a peace treaty), with nothing to build on except ones military “defensive” capacities, nothing to do other than “prepare” for the next war.

One thing is sure. Israel isn’t the only one “learning” from the present “war lessons”. While the whole world watches the battle raging , the military operations expanding and the casualties mounting; While Palestinians in Gaza (and Hamas) try to survive… Hezbollah is equally “learning” from the “Second Gaza War” the new strategies developed by its enemy, for they will surely be applied soon in Lebanon.

And as I sit comfortably in front of my computer in a public library, Gaza II seems to be just another prequel to the next war.

One Response to “Gaza, a prequel to Lebanon War 3 ?”

  1. I know what you mean. I have forbidden myself not to blog about Israel/Gaza. I fear my silence means siding with Israel during this war. I hope not.
    It is saying too much, but as the world wants this war to stop, nobody wants it to continue more than the U.S., Israel and Hamas. Frankly, I feel the U.S. is forcing Israel to continue, regardless if Israel sees it beneficial or not.

    It’s a case of Schandenfreud for the U.S. and it’s foreign policy makers.

Leave a Reply

 
