Worried Lebanese

thought crumbs on lebanese and middle eastern politics

Political Fiction: Rabbi Ovadia Yosef flies to Iraq with message of Peace

Posted by worriedlebanese on 22/12/2008

 

"Before becoming Israeli, I was an Iraqi like you"

"Before becoming Israeli, I was an Iraqi like you", Hacham Yosef from the Najaf.

Former Sephardic chief rabbi of Israel, Rabbi Ovadia Yosef, flew to Iraq early morning yesterday to meet with Grand Ayatollah Sistani. From the Najaf, he extended a message of Peace to all Iraqis. After meeting with the highest shiite authority in Iraq, Rabbi Yosef made a discrete visit to Basra, where he was shown the neighbourhood in which he was born.

 

“When M. Akram al-Hakim suggested we visit Basra to see where my family hails from, I didn’t show much excitement about it. It’s true that I was born in this city, but I left it when I was 4. I didn’t expect to remember anything about it. And yet, when we crossed the [Ashar] river, something in the smell or possibly the lighting felt familiar and brought teers to my ears. I felt I was resuming with 28 centuries of history”. 

This reporting purely fictional. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or deceased, has nothing coincidental. 

One Response to “Political Fiction: Rabbi Ovadia Yosef flies to Iraq with message of Peace”

  1. […] the rest here: Political Fiction: Rabbi Ovadia Yosef flies to Iraq with message … :communication, conspiracy, Education, fiction, hezbollah, israel, journalism, middle-east, peace, […]

Leave a Reply

 
