Worried Lebanese

thought crumbs on lebanese and middle eastern politics

Prisoners and corpses: First values in the Middle-East stock exchange

Posted by worriedlebanese on 15/07/2008


It seems that Israel will be releasing its Lebanese prisoners (amongst them a dangerous criminal who massacred an Israeli family in the name of resistance)  tomorrow , in exchange for two soldiers (probably dead) held by Hezbollah and some information on Ron Arad (an Israeli aviator who probably pulverised many innocent Lebanese in the name of self defense).  

And all the Lebanese politicians are bikering about is why the Lebanese government wasn’t part of this deal. Some Lebanese politicians (close to or part of the Hariri-Jumblatt alliance) are publicly wondering why!

The reason I find is quite simple. Hezbollah and the IDF speak the same language. They play in the same market and find it normal to trade in human lives, livelihoods and corpses. And if the government wanted to be part of the talks, why didn’t the Prime minister ask Hezbollah to hand in the Israeli POW. Instead of making this issue one of national sovereign (which it really is), they preferred to bicker about the Hezbollah telephone lines (which is everything but a question of national sovereignty).

2 Responses to “Prisoners and corpses: First values in the Middle-East stock exchange”

  1. Your site doesn’t seem to be about “worried.” I think “Confused” would have been more appropriate.. then again, that’s what I got from reading a couple of posts and “About me.”

    Or maybe I’m the one confused! For example, here, you refer to Kuntar just like an Israeli would: a dangerous criminal who massacred an Israeli family in the name of resistance. So “matter-of-factly!” Yet when you refer to the Israeli, you mention that the Israeli aviator “probably” pulverized many innocent Lebanese… Probably? Are you suggesting that the Israelis massacres of Qana and more, or the killing of thousands of innocent Lebanese were unintentional?

    Then in a more recent post, you did mention that Kuntar was only 16 at the time of this murder.

    I don’t know.. but my assumption is that you may not be Lebanese at all…

    ATW

  2. thanks for your comment ATW,
    You are right. I am confused, just as I am worried. But I assure you, I’m just as much worried and confused as I am Lebanese.
    I think it’s only normal to be confused. Everything in this country (i.e. Lebanon) is confusing! Not to say anything about the whole region (i.e. The Middle East). There are so many paradoxes, incoherences, opposing yet valid points of views… I’ll come back to this point in another posting.

    In the post you just commented, I used several shortcuts that you find unacceptable. I did that because delving into such details wasn’t my objective. All I meant to do was denounce the cynism of the most prominent political actors in the Middle East; a cynism that makes me wonder how they reconcile it with their “high moral stand”.
    As for what I said about Samir Kuntar, I do believe he is a criminal, and I can do that because I have a lot of information about what he did back in the 1970, and I said he was dangerous because not only he did not repent for his actions, but he refuses to recognise some of them and considers them as a whole a heroic act.
    And for the “probably”, well, I don’t know anything about Ron Arad and the plane he was piloting. You know, a lot of Israeli pilots fly over Lebanon. It’s part of the IDF’s intimidation and intelligence strategy. So I assume that he probably killed innocent Lebanese. One thing is sure, many israeli pilots have pulverized many innocent Lebanese, but maybe Arad isn’t one of them.
    Lastly, I’m no fan of the Israeli army! I think it has committed a lot of massacres in Lebanon and destroyed many lives and livelihoods. Whether these massacres are intentional or not is another question (and this question should be treated case by case). Whatever the qualification is they remain massacres and war crimes.
    I think the Israeli army is one of the main obstacles to Peace in the Middle East. But this doesn’t mean that everything that is done against it is heroic.

Leave a Reply

 
