Worried Lebanese

thought crumbs on lebanese and middle eastern politics

New president, old recipes

Posted by worriedlebanese on 26/05/2008

I just came back to Paris from a week isolation, cut off from the rest of the world: no telephone, no internet, no telly, no newspapers… And the first thing a fellow traveller tells me upon learning that I was Lebanese was “what do you think of the new president?”. I knew then that Michel Suleiman had become president. It didn’t really come as a surprise. He was the only candidate to the post. But I just couldn’t hide my disappointment. The disappointment only grew when I read his first presidential speech (first thing I did when I reached my room). Fuad Chehab was back, with a vengeance. 

Don’t be fooled by the picture you see in this post of a man in civilian clothes congratulated by his mother. What you see is the current commanding general of the lebanese army who stared at the warring parties during our short civil war, and who had stood by for two years while the islamist of Nahr el Bared and almost all the Lebanese parties rebuilt their militias… just like Chehab did in 1968. 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

