Worried Lebanese

thought crumbs on lebanese and middle eastern politics

Working on Peace education

Posted by worriedlebanese on 11/06/2007

logo1.jpgI have been working for several weeks now on two programmes for peace education in Lebanon: One for trainers and one for a summer workshop. It’s a whole new field I’m discovering and I this has resulted in my total neglect of this blog. One of the main fuels for my post writing was the daily news. I chose to ignore it a couple of months ago because I noticed that it was sterile and reported nothing really new. But today, it is very difficult to ignore the news because it’s here, it’s violent, it’s real, and it is bloody.
For over two weeks now, there has been ongoing fighting between the lebanese army and a militant islamic group in and around the camp. And I see myself quite supportive of the Lebanese army. How can I reconcile this position with my pro-peace work? how can I be supporting a military intervention while working on an anti-violence pro-peace programme?

3 Responses to “Working on Peace education”

  1. Margaret said

    Would you mind telling me more about the education work you are doing? That is how I found your blog. I have been thinking about learning more about peace education and conflict transformation. I have found programs in other parts of the world, but Lebanon has a place in my heart.

  2. adnaneo said

    Hi,
    Seems like we have similar interest. Can you send me the link or information concerning this peace education program ?

    thank you for the information,
    Adnane

  3. Dear Adnane,
    you didn’t leave any email address. So i don’t know how to answer your question.
    There are a lot of peace education program going around. What I’m trying to do now is work on a specific program for the Middle East based on diversity.

Leave a Reply

 
