Worried Lebanese

thought crumbs on lebanese and middle eastern politics

Arab identity ascribed or denied

Posted by worriedlebanese on 16/12/2006

After the screening of Route 181, I had a political fight with a friend of mine over identity in general and my identity in particular. It all started with a discussion over Israel/Palestine. I told her that I tried to stay neutral in the conflict, not taking side with one national struggle or another but siding with human rights first. And then I said something that kind of fuelled a heated discussion (like gasoline). I said that I didn’t subscribe to the victimisation narrative of the Palestinians. I do feel for their suffering, and their plight, as a people and on as individuals.
Israel is obviously responsible for it, but one cannot stop at the triggering event (the Nakba), event though it’s very central and dramatic, but should see the subsequent events. You are an Arab in denial she told me.

Leave a Reply

 
